Jodie Horn
Assistant Children's Director
Jodie is our Assistant Children's Director. She involved in AWANA, Sunday School, VBS, and leads our Starting Point Ministry!

Jodie joined the Canyon Springs Staff in August 2022 as the Assistant Children’s Director.  She has been coming to Canyon Springs since 2013 and in that time has volunteered as one of our weekly Sunday School teachers (committing to teach every Sunday for 9 months at a time). She also led our story time at VBS 2022, has been a table leader at AWANA, she heads up our Starting Point ministry, she is an absolutely phenomenal baker, and also volunteered for Houseboats 2022 providing and planning all the meals.  Jodie has a gift for discipling the hearts of children! 

More about Jodie

I grew up in Tucson, Arizona where I graduated from University of Arizona with a bachelors in Elementary education.  I taught for 4 years in Tucson ranging from kindergarten to 2nd grade.  I met Eric in 2011, and shortly after we started dating, he moved to San Diego, but he didn’t get rid of me that easily…we were married in July 2013 in Santa Barbara, CA right on the beach, which I had always dreamed of!

Growing up church was always a part of my life, we even had church at our home and in the garage for a few years. My parents were very involved in the church which means as a kid, you are too; which I loved. When I moved to San Diego, I knew finding a church would be a big task with Eric, I mean when you go to the same church for 20+ years, it makes it hard.  We tried a couple of churches before finding Canyon Springs and as soon as I walked through the doors, I felt like I was “home”; and Eric loved it too!

In my spare time, I love to bake.  Cookies, cakes, bars, you name it, but pies…they are my nemesis.  Guess that means I need to make more of them to get better. Pie anyone? I also have a love for Disney and we try to go to the parks at least once a month.

Random facts and tidbits about Jodie

  • PC or Mac: Both (But becoming a Mac person very quickly)
  • Morning or Night Person: I guess night, as long as it’s before 10pm!
  • Dogs or cats: Dogs – we have 2: Cocoa and Java
  • Hometown: Tucson, AZ
  • Favorite Dessert: You can’t go wrong with peanut butter and chocolate (esp. Dark chocolate)
  • Beach or Mountains: Both!
  • Favorite Music: Country